Back to all News

Former John Macphail Rugby Scholarship recipients shine for Scotland

Please note that The Robertson Trust has published its new Giving Strategy. This sets out the priorities we will have when awarding funds through our open grants programme. The existing application form and guidelines can still be used until July 31st. In line with our existing procedures, we will aim to assess and present all applications received by this date to our September Board meeting. In the event that we are unable to do so, your application may be held until our November meeting. In such cases a member of staff will contact you and provide any assistance required to realign your application with the new Giving Strategy. Find out all you need to know here.

The first ever recipient of the John Macphail Rugby Scholarship captained Scotland to victory against Wales in the RBS 6 Nations last weekend.

John Barclay, who received the award as a 19 year old in 2005, was named captain for the first time and led the team to a 29-13 victory in a rousing match at Murrayfield.

Another former award recipient, Finn Russell, meanwhile, was named man of the match, after contributing 19 points to the victory.

The award is a partnership between The Robertson Trust and Scottish Rugby Union and enables two young rugby players – who have demonstrated the potential to win a future Scottish cap – to undertake training with a New Zealand rugby club each year. It is named after John Macphail, ex-Chairman of The Robertson Trust and a former Scotland rugby international himself.

Previous recipients include:

  • 2015: Callum Hunter-Hill, Ben Robbins
  • 2014: Adam Ashe, Ewan McQuillin
  • 2013: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Finn Russell
  • 2012: Jonny Gray, Gregor Hunter
  • 2011: Grant Gilchrist, Harry Leonard, George Turner
  • 2010: Finlay Gillies
  • 2009: Lewis Niven
  • 2008: Roddy Grant
  • 2007: Kevin Bryce
  • 2006: Graham Hogg
  • 2005: John Barclay 

The award reflects The Robertson Trust’s commitment to helping talent in Scotland realise its potential. You can read more about our various scholarship awards here.