Back to all News

2015 Recipients of the John Macphail Rugby Scholarship Announced

Please note that The Robertson Trust has published its new Giving Strategy. This sets out the priorities we will have when awarding funds through our open grants programme. The existing application form and guidelines can still be used until July 31st. In line with our existing procedures, we will aim to assess and present all applications received by this date to our September Board meeting. In the event that we are unable to do so, your application may be held until our November meeting. In such cases a member of staff will contact you and provide any assistance required to realign your application with the new Giving Strategy. Find out all you need to know here.

The 2015 recipients of the prestigious John Macphail Rugby Scholarship have been revealed at BT Murrayfield.

The Robertson Trust funds the John Macphail Scholarship and 2015 marks its 11th year running. It was established in memory of former Scotland hooker John Macphail, who died in 2004.


Two of Scotland’s brightest prospects, Ben Robbins, Scotland under-20 and Watsonians winger and Callum Hunter-Hill, the Scotland under-18 and Stewart’s-Meville lock are the players who will travel to New Zealand to be trained at the Canterbury RFU International High Performance Unit in Christchurch.

The duo, who are both aged 18, will play for clubs in the Christchurch area and receive specialist coaching from the Canterbury RFU for 15 weeks.

These players will join the likes of current Scotland internationalists Finn Russell, Adam Ashe and Grant Gilchrist as recent winners of the initiative.


Scottish Rugby’s Head of Academy and Performance Programmes, Stephen Gemmell, said: “Thank you to the Robertson Trust and Macphail family for their continued support of Scottish Rugby.

“The Scholarship has played an important role in a number of our current professional and international players’ careers and will provide a springboard for Callum [Hunter-Hill] and Ben [Robbins] to accelerate their development as part of the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy.

“These promising young players will follow in the footsteps of a number of recently capped internationalists.”


Mark Laing, Chairman of the Robertson Scholarship Trust welcomed the announcement.

He said: “It gives me great pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2015 John Macphail Rugby Scholarship.

“We are once again looking forward to witnessing the impact on the players’ skills and overall development that will be the legacy of their time in New Zealand.

“The Trustees, the Macphail family – who are here in force today – and I, will follow avidly the progress of the two players this summer in New Zealand and in their careers.”